Physical Education Department

(Turku Hansda Lapsa Hemram Mahavidyalay)


About the College:

Our college under the Green Canopy of Shal & Mahuya forest, named after the two great tribal leaders of Birbhum, Turku Hansda & Lapsa Hembram. THLH Mahavidyalay was established on 1st August, 2006 with a view to catering higher education to the aspiring students of a wide area surrounding Mallarpur, Birbhum. THLH Mahavidyalay of Birbhum District in West Bengal is situated in a plot of 5 acre land on the Raniganj-Suri-Moregram National Highway 60 and is well- connected with the District Head Quarter Suri and nearest Sub-Divisional Town Rampurhat. The college is linked by road & rail with the rest of the state and the country. The college is located at a distance of 3 Km from both Mallarpur Railway Station (MLV) and Bus Stop (Bahina More) and about 17 Km from Rampurhat and 33Km from Suri by National Highway-60. At the west of it flows the irrigation Canal adjacent to the green of the Shal and Mahuya of Gonpur Forest. Twin villages-Madian and Mehednagar-exist at the south of the college and along the northern boundary of it runs 60 National Highway from Panagar to Moregram. The east is open towards the horizon with the sometime green and sometime golden crops of the villagers.

About the Physical Education Department:

The department of Physical Education is one of the core departments of Our College. It was established in 2008 to carryout undergraduate General courses in Physical Education. Gradually 3 years Major in Physical Education course was introduced in 2023. The Department of Physical Education envisages students’ enrichment with knowledge and skills for spatial thinking and analysis to understand the real world problems and contribute some meaningful ways for social wellbeing.

The Departmental library contains some collections of Physical Education Books. At present it has nearly 450 Books (reference and Texts Books). The Department has a partially equipped Gymnasium. At present our college has a football ground, a volleyball court, a Kho-Kho court and a Badminton court.


Mr Mizanur Rahaman (CV)


Department of Physical Education